General Editors

Area Editors

The following is list of the IEP area editors. See the desired articles by area page for listings of the most wanted articles for each area.

  • Aesthetics
  • African Philosophy
  • American Philosophy
  • Analytic Philosophy, History of
  • Ancient Philosophy
  • Chinese Philosophy
  • Continental Philosophy
  • Epistemology
  • Ethics
  • Feminist Philosophy
  • Indian Philosophy
  • Indigenous World Philosophy
    • (open)
  • Islamic Philosophy
    • Chad Hillier, (acting editor), Wilfrid Laurier University Brantford, Canada
  • Language, Philosophy of
    • Paul Saka, University of Texas, Pan American, U. S. A.
  • Law, Philosophy of
  • Logic
    • Jean-Yves Béziau, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazilian Research Council and Brazilian Academy of Philosophy, Brazil.
  • Mathematics, Philosophy of
    • Roy Cook, University of Minnesota, U. S. A.
  • Medieval Philosophy
  • Metaphysics, Contemporary
    • Joseph Campbell, (acting editor) Washington State University, Pullman, U. S. A.
  • Mind and Cognitive Science
  • Political Philosophy
  • Religion, Philosophy of
  • Renaissance Philosophy
  • Science, Philosophy of
  • Social Philosophy
  • Value Theory
    • Joel Dittmer, Missouri University of Science and Technology, U. S. A.
  • 17th Century European Philosophy
  • 18th Century European Philosophy
    • Christian Onof, Birkbeck College, United Kingdom (German philosophy)
    • C. M. Lorkowski, Kent State University, U. S. A. (British philosophy)
    • Jeffrey Linz, Southern Illinois University, U. S. A. (French philosophy, acting editor)
  • 19th Century European Philosophy
    • Jim Dunson, Xavier University of Louisiana, U. S. A. (German philosophy)
    • (British and French philosophy editorships open)

See also: Former Editors

Recruiting Editor

Assistant to the General Editors

  • Josh May, University of Alabama at Birmingham, U. S. A.


  • Current: Christopher Alldredge, Ahmed Arafa, Dominic Connaway, Josh Dowden, Brittany Dowdle, Catherine Elian, Jeffrey Fisher, Natasa Gassia, Heather Hoyt, Christine Jakobson, William S. Jones, Joseph Kassman-Tod, Varak Ketsemanian, Nathan Kraatz, Gennifer Lehmer, John Miller, Michael Murray, Daniel Palamara, Mohan Pillai, Tanya Quin, Sonali Raj, Mark Rittenmeyer, Akilesh Sridharan, Greg Stokley, Dzmitry Tsapkou, Samantha Tynes, Molly Watson, Samuel Webb, Adam Young. Former Volunteers...

Technical Help

  • Technical Editors and Consultants: Marilynn Lawrence, Joshua Dowden (San Francisco Web Designer), Bryan Foltz
  • Legal Consultant: Brian Butler
  • The IEP is run on WordPress, an open-source publishing platform. Josh May customized the design based on a default theme, with programming done by Alex Bundy.
  • The IEP is housed on the University of Tennessee at Martin's main web server, which is maintained by the University's Computer Center.
  • The former IEP graphics and layout program were designed by Marilynn Lawrence; the former indexing program was written by Chris Caldwell.

An encyclopedia of philosophy articles written by professional philosophers.